!You are viewing the archived site. To go to the NEW SITE please click here

Competition: 43rd Annual International Store Design Competition Winners

The Retail Design Institute's 43rd International Store Design Awards Gala took place the evening of Monday, January 13 at the Times Center Stage in New York City. More than 200 of the retail design industry's top design talent, retailers, editors and vendors joined the Retail Design Institute as they recognized the top store designs from 2013. Emceed by Ray Ehscheid, RDI, Bank of America, and Peter Tolin-Baker, RDI, P-T B Design Services presented the evenings winners. Announced and awarded by Andrew McQuilkin, FRD, the Institute's International President with top honors for Store of the Year 2013 was Umpqua Bank in San Francisco designed by Huen. McQuilkin also recognized John Sapanaro of Lighting Management as Trade Member of the Year, James Farnell of Little as Member of the Year and awarded Paul Pizzini the Fellow of the Institute Award.

Other stores recognized for their outstanding achievements included:

New or Completely Renovated Full-Line Dept. Store
First Place - Liverpool in Veracruz, Mexico by FRCH
Award of Merit - Lord & Taylor Mizner Park by BHDP

New or Completely Renovated Specialty Dept. Store
First Place - Barney’s NY by Yabu Pushelberg
Award of Merit - Lane Crawford Yin Tai by Yabu Pushelberg

New Shop within an Existing Full-Line or Specialty Dept. Store
First Place - DFS in Singapore by rkd retail/iQ
Award of Merit - CHANEL at Macy’s Herald Square by Chanel, Inc.

Hard Line Specialty Store
First Place - Restoration Hardware by Bergmeyer Associates, Inc.
Award of Merit - Sunglass Hut Sydney Flagship by Luxottica Retail Australia
Award of Merit – Hudson Grace by Gensler
Award of Merit - Cannondale Sports Group by Bergmeyer Associates, Inc.

Soft Line Specialty Store
First Place – Patagonia Meatpacking in NYC by MNA
First Place – Tommy Bahama Bar, Restaurant and Store in NYC by MNA
Award of Merit – Carlo Pazolini in London by Giorgio Borruso Design
Award of Merit – Real Madrid Store by Sanzpont Architects

Large Format Specialty Store
First Place – Under Armour Brand House by Chandler, Inc.

Value Retail
First Place – Charming Charlie by Gensler

First Place - Fresh St. Market by King Retail Solutions
Award of Merit – No Frills by Landini Associates & Turner Fleischer Architects

Specialty Food, Gourmet Grocer & Deli
First Place - Zumbo by Elenberg Fraser
First Place – DFS Wine/Cigars by rkd retail/iQ

Fine Dining Restaurant and/or Bar
First Place – Ja Bistro by Dialogue 38
Award of Merit – Marin Restaurant & Bar by Shea, Inc.

Quick Serve Rest./Food Court Design
First Place – Kung Pao Wok by Bennett Lo
First Place – Richmond Centre Dining Terrace by GH+A

Bar, Coffee, Tea Shop
First Place – Nespresso Boutique Bar by Studio Parisotto & Formenton
Award of Merit – T. Boutique/T. Bar by T. Lovers

Telecommunications, Mobile Technology Stores
First Place – Telstra by Geyer
Award of Merit – AT&T by Callison

Travel, Lifestyle, Wellbeing
First Place – Qi Master Reflexology by Pinto Tuncer
First Place – American Express Centurion by Big Red Rooster
Award of Merit – Ruscio Studio by Cinq Sens

Award of Merit – Hermosa Pharmacy by Marketing-Jazz

Brand Spaces
First Place – Amouge Flagship Store/Visitors Center by JHP
Award of Merit – Perry Ellis Showroom by TPG Architecture

Financial Services
First Place – Umpqua Bank by Huen


Store Planning
Restoration Hardware by Bergmeyer Associates

Lighting Design
Ja Bistro by Dialogue 38

Materials & Finishes
Lane Crawford by Yabu Pushelberg

Wayfinding, Signage & Environmental Graphics
Pep Boys Road Ahead Concept Store by EWI Worldwide

Visual Merchandising
T.Boutique/T.Bar by T.Lovers

Barney’s NY by Yabu Pushleberg

Conceptual Design
Qi Master by Pinto Tuncer

CHANEL at Macy’s by Chanel, Inc.

Patagonia Bowery by MNA

Toshiba Digital Integration Award
Sunglass Hut by Luxottica Retail

Design Awards Ceremony

Forms & File Downloads



Questions & Comments

Add a Comment

Platinum Supporter